Red Track Suit

I got my red track suit on

I pull on my new straw hat

Don’t wait around honey bee

I’m taking a walk and won’t be back

I pass the kids skating past

They oughta stop talking smack

They got friends who ain’t here

Cause their poppy I whacked

The ladies at the track

They know I’m a made guy

When they need a good time

They know who to call

I may be eighty four

In my red track suit

When you hear me at the door

You know you done wrong

I was busting heads before your daddy came along

I was the bad boy before cops had shows

Before Joes dated broads on national tv

In my red track suit

So the next time you think some old guy

He’s a fool, what an old fart

He’s a badder ass than you’ll ever be

With his red track suit on

[Notes: File under, Songs I Will Never Write. I wrote this one day while in San Diego. I was walking along the beach when I saw this old guy speed walking along in a straw hat and a red track suit. I imagined a whole backstory for this guy that he was a retired mob wise guy, enjoying the ladies and occasionally putting the smack on some young punk that crossed his path.]

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Kids, Seasons, Seattle, And Canucks

I volunteer at my youngest son’s kindergarten class. I am quite enjoying this and I get to hear some funny things from the kids. I had to read a short book, about 12 pages, 2-3 sentences a page. There was a picture accompanying each... Continue →