10 Ideas: Ways to Catch a Fish

My kids love fishing and have come up with many ideas (some they have tried) to catch a fish. Here are 10 of the ways we have tried or not in the case of the ones I have informed them are illegal.

  1. With a fishing rod: The obvious first choice.
  2. With your hands: Difficult but not impossible. Check out Noodling for one example.
  3. With a net: Easier than your hands.
  4. With a bomb: Ok, this works if you drop in in the water. But not exactly safe or legal.
  5. With a hook tied to the end of a stick: Called Gaffing and not legal in many places. Though I must say, my boys have some good ideas.
  6. With candy: Hey, if we like it, the fish must like it, right?
  7. With the canoe: Just submerge it, wait for fish to arrive and then haul it out. Like a canoe full of water if going to be easy to pull out. Whatever, Dad is strong!
  8. Put them in fish tank: Well with less space they sure will be easier to catch.
  9. Throw a rock as big as the lake in the lake and splash all the water out: Ok, that would work but I think the fish would be under the rock. Also, that would be one big rock and I don’t think we would still be near the lake when it hit. But hey, details.
  10. With a hook on a string: Ok, that one works and it’s called jigging/handline. Done it myself in the Atlantic for Cod fish as a boy.

All in all, some good ideas from those boys of mine.

 
11
Kudos
 
11
Kudos

Now read this

Testing Kids In America

My oldest has just did a week (4 of the 5 days) of Stanford Testing at his school. Several grades do the testing and it ranks the schools for comparisons across the state. Then across the US. My son told me how some of this works and I... Continue →